All About Circuits Forum  

Go Back   All About Circuits Forum > Electronics Forums > The Projects Forum

Notices

The Projects Forum Working on an electronics project and would like some suggestions, help or critiques? If you would like to comment or assist others with their projects, this is the place to do it.

Reply   Post New Thread

Old 03-16-2011, 02:15 AM

Default AUV Project - H Bridge Conundrum

Hi there.

I'm a mechanical engineering student tackling a group project at the minute. It's the design and build of an underwater vehicle. I volunteered to do the electronics (expand the mind and all that) and am in need of some advice.

Basically, the craft will have 6 motors. They'll be controlled using an arduino microcontroller, which as I understand it puts out 5v logic. The motors will be drawing up to 6.5 amps, and each motor must be bidirectional and be capable of running independently, which means 6 motor controllers. I've struggled to find a commercial driver I could buy 6 of, and still stay reasonably within our budget. So, I've opted to build my own.

I breadboarded one yesterday and got it working, but this was using 4.5v from three 1.5v batteries to drive a small test motor and to configure the logic of the bridge. I then tested the bridge using a 12v lead acid battery for the bridge, connected one of the 'big' motors, and again used the three 1.5v batteries to configure the logic of the bridge, and... it shorted the right hand side of the bridge, and my high and low side mosfets melted, on that one side.

I've had a bit of advice elsewhere that, if I understand it properly, suggests that the 4.5v wasn't sufficient to 'open' the p types, so they were always closed, the n types came online, and shoot through occurred, thus frying the mosfets. This, I can live with.

The advice I'm looking for is regarding the schematic I've attached. I basically have three key questions: