Designing a linear speed fan amp control for a smoker

mr x

Joined Dec 31, 2010
Hello there, I'm so rusty at this stuff I squeak. Quick into, I graduated from a CET about 20 years ago. Back then, I could build circuits in my sleep. Since then, I've moved onto industrial instrumentation, and my circuit level electronics knowledge is long gone.

The project I need help with is a smoker temperature controller for my Primo XL. The simplest and most well known option is a small fan (around 10 cfm) to provide the intake draft, with feedback and control provided by a PID temperature controller.

Generally, the 12 Vdc fan is run in the on/off mode, but this presents a few issues. I would prefer a linear control, but that has problems as well. Is it possible to design an amplifier that will take the output of a PID (1-5, or 2.4-12 vdc), and allow me to set the amplifier output to the fan at an adjustable lower voltage (because it probably won't start at 2.4 volts) up to the maximum 12 vdc?

GetDeviceInfo

Joined Jun 7, 2009
your talking about altering the P component of the PID loop, possibly to a degree of negating the benefits of full PID control. I would rather look at PWM for motor drive, which would allow you to maintain your loop control, if you thought the application could benefit.

mr x

Joined Dec 31, 2010
The PID algorithm in the controller is a separate calculation, so the P will still do what it should do within that output calculation. I just need some sort of offset adjustment on an amplifier circuit, I guess, to account for the fan start-up voltage probably not being 0V dc. I would like to be a able to adjust that bottom voltage so that the 0% output from the controller (4mA, 1Vdc or 2.4vdc to the amplifier input) is 0Vdc out of the amp, and 1% becomes a voltage of 3-6 Vdc (or whatever the startup voltage for the fan is). And 100% is 12vDC.

Last edited:

marshallf3

Joined Jul 26, 2010