How to fix bad tracks resulted from bad film transfer printing

m.yaser

Joined Nov 28, 2010
hello every body
i am a newbie and i was trying to make a pcb
but now i am stuck with a bad board with low connectivity tracks
I have done some troubleshooting with the multimeter and i Know exactly what bad parts needs to be fixed
i have tried soldering
but no use
any idea about fixing these tracks ???

m.yaser

Joined Nov 28, 2010
thank you
making a new one will save time and effort
but i need to learn some troubleshooting skills
what do you mean by wiring in traces ??

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Consider where a trace should make a path from point A to point B and does not. The cure is to use a small gauge wire to make the connection.

shortbus

Joined Sep 30, 2009
Inspect your board really well before etching. If traces look bad, either remove original resist and reprint or if only a few bad spots, you can touch them up with a permanent marker/sharpie or even nail polish.

Before transferring to bard make sure you clean copper surface really good. Some use a nylon scrubber pad, others use a kitchen/bath cleanser like Comet or something similar. Either of those both clean and microscopically scratch the surface so toner can bond.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
I recently perfected my ability to make a home brew PCB using toner transfer techniques. It is hard to reject a pattern that is almost close enough, but it really is the best way to do it. If it isn't perfect then wipe it off with acetone and start over.

Took me about 10 tries with an clothes iron, but I finally made one, and etched it. Afterwords I found a high quality laminator, which has improved my results a lot.

http://www.electro-tech-online.com/...4601-diy-toner-transfer-paper-cheap-easy.html

m.yaser

Joined Nov 28, 2010
thank you all
but I have another question
what are the best dimensions to use when creating a layout for toner transfer techniqes
thanks in advance

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007