Motorized Revolving Chair

dmend

Joined May 11, 2010
Hello everyone,

Sorry for the long posting, but the devil is often in the details and as indicated before, I am a novice in this area. In a previous thread on this project (Forward and Reverse Motor Controlls) I introduced what my project is (see project description below) and got some good direction from this community. I'm now ready to continue my project and will appreciate your expert comments on the description below. Thanks in advance....

As time has allowed I’ve assembled the chair and settled on the gear system (roller-chain and two gears) and have determined it takes 15 foot pounds to move a 200 lb person sitting in the chair. So that appears to have been the easy part of the project.

After converting the 15 ft lbs: = 20.337 269 28 Newton meter or
=2880 ounce inch, or 632.1015 nM*n (milliNewton meter) I’ve searched the previously referred websites and others for a motor of this magnitude with little luck. I was hoping to find a take-out, but realize I may be buying new.

It looks like the major components I need to acquire are the
• Power source (ac/dc converter matched to controller and motor),
• User control buttons and cables
• Controller and cables,
• Timer and Bell or buzzer device,
• Sensors
• Motor.

The Motor Specs:
• Bi-polar, Constant Voltage or Resistance Limited
• PM permanent Magnet or Hybrid
• 650 mN*m or equivalent

Q1. Can anyone refer me to a source for this type of motor?

The Controller:
I think I’m looking for a Bi-directional DC Motor Speed Controller for a 4 wire bi-polar stepper motor.

Q2. Can anyone refer me to a source for a bi-directional DC Motor Speed Controller for a 4 wire bi-polar stepper motor that would be appropriate for this project?

The sensors: