Finding 'J' over 's' with a voltage drop?

Lolpz

Joined Sep 7, 2010
Hi everybody, I am a freshman college student who is greatly interested in electrical circuits for my major in hardware engineering but I am struggling on my first homework assignment for my ELEC 1300 class.

This is my first post but since I have found out about this forum, I hope to continue posting and contribute back to the community as I learn more, in return for the help others can offer me.

I only say this because I don't want the community to think I'm just trying to get some quick answers to get me by in the class with no work done on my own part.

I would like to included a short bit of background on myself to help you help me. The highest form of math I have taken as of yet is Pre-calculus my senior year in high school. When choosing my courses for college, the prerequisite for this electric circuits class was only pre-calculus so I thought I would be fine, however once I started, the professor told us we would be using calculus from day 1. I'm still slightly confused about integrals and know that I need to understand them to solve many of the problems. I say this because if integrals are involved in either of these questions, I would greatly appreciate if you could explain why and how you used integrals to solve.

With that said, here are my two questions (They are relatively unrelated so I only posted one in the subject line)

The first question I have, I did a search and found a forum already posted with a very similar question, however, I was confused by the answer provided and was wondering if somebody could help explain better. Here is the link if you would like to check it out first: http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showthread.php?t=28331&highlight=assume+charge+upper+terminal

1.) The current entering the upper terminal of Fig. 1.5. (Included in pdf and jpeg as attachment) is "i = 20cos5000t A."