All About Circuits Forum  

Go Back   All About Circuits Forum > Electronics Forums > Homework Help

Notices

Homework Help Stuck on a textbook question or coursework? Cramming for a test and need help understanding something? Post your questions and attempts here and let others help.

Reply   Post New Thread

Old 08-21-2010, 09:57 PM

Unhappy Synchronous 3-Bit JK Flip-Flop Counter

Hi,
I'm studying for exams soon and trying to do the following question;
Design a synchronous circuit using JK F/F to produce 0,3,5,6,1,7,4,2,0...(Binary)

My knowledge of this course is very basic I'm afraid so I'd appreciate any help I can get! I'm confused as to whether just flip-flops and AND gates is enough? Can somebody give me an idea of where to start or what I need to do, I'm really confused...!

Thanks guys!
Old 08-22-2010, 12:41 AM

Grab a data sheet for a 74LS161. That's a 4 bit synchronous counter with JK's inside. That will show how to make a counter.
Old 08-22-2010, 03:14 AM

Question

Ok, I've tried to figure this out and come up with this kind of circuit, but I'm not sure its right? Hopefully I'm on the right track though, could domebody have a look and let me know where I'm going wrong, obv the flip flops would all be connected to a clock, I just havent drawn it in....?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg JK.jpg (48.9 KB, 56 views)
Old 08-22-2010, 11:53 AM
Super Moderator

Please be more careful with what you write. If I'm correct you don't need a counter (0,1,2,3...) but a layout that will go through the sequence you mentioned (0,3,5,6,1,7,4,2), am I right? Do you have access to the textboot "Digital Design" of M. Mano? It will help a lot. Do you have any experience with FSM's (Finite State Machines)

I wish I was the best at what I would do, and what I would do wouldn't be pretty.
Old 08-22-2010, 12:25 PM