All About Circuits Forum  

Go Back   All About Circuits Forum > Software, Microcomputing, and Communications Forums > Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers

Notices

Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers Discussion forum for projects and working with embedded systems and microcontrollers (FPGAs, PICs, AVRs). Get help with hardware issues and embedded programming.

Reply   Post New Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-16-2010, 12:18 PM
t06afre's Avatar
t06afre t06afre is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lloydi12345 View Post
We are not allowed to buy PIC programmers because we are required to present homemade PIC Programmer. I already spend 2 weeks figuring out how to solve the problem and I think one by one I'm moving closer on making it run. Anyway, this is still fun for me so I'm not giving up that easy.
Oh sorry did not see this. That will rule out using a PICKIT, but anyway if you plan do some pic programming after this project get a PICKIT.
What is your current schematic. You are talking about parts that I can not find in your first schematic. And that is confusing. But I think you are on the correct track using an external power supply. And also note the tip from mark77. That may be very important for you
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-16-2010, 06:09 PM
debjit625's Avatar
debjit625 debjit625 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue planet...
Posts: 790
Default

Quote:
thank you, now i get it, Do i still need to have an external power supply for the 2nd wire to power up my Programmer board? at the same time I'm connecting the 1st wire to the 13v power supply too (Do i need here a circuit like composed of resistors and capacitors)? Did i get it right sir?
You got it a bit ,Just try to forget your old circuit because it take the power from your computer which is quite low I think and that is the reason why it didnt worked.Now you could modify the old circuit with an external power supply but that will be a mess.And no you cant directly apply the VDD (2nd) with 5VDC and MCLR (1st) with 13V they are switched on and off by the application software (programming software) on your computer.If you want to do that you have to modify your old circuit with some short of switching circuits and which will be a mess as you have to deconstruct the whole old circuit.

As its the first time for you dont make it a mess just keep it simple.
So go to http://www.oshonsoft.com/picprogserial.html and make this circuit and use the program given on the website.

Later you can mess with the old circuit anytime.

Good Luck
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-17-2010, 06:23 AM
lloydi12345 lloydi12345 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 103
Default

I would like to show my pic programmer schematic here.



I already corrected the connections. I reversed it, because i know pin #6 is the MCLR and pin #3 and pin #6 are ground based on the schematic

Last edited by lloydi12345; 08-17-2010 at 06:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-17-2010, 07:25 AM
t06afre's Avatar
t06afre t06afre is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5,939
Default

Does it work now?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-17-2010, 07:50 AM
lloydi12345 lloydi12345 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by t06afre View Post
Does it work now?
EDIT: I mean Pin #4 & #1 are ground

the programer still can't be detected and also the PIC
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-17-2010, 08:05 AM
t06afre's Avatar
t06afre t06afre is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lloydi12345 View Post
EDIT: I mean Pin #4 & #1 are ground

the programer still can't be detected and also the PIC
Why are you holding on to that circuit? You have much better change of success with the circuit from debjit625.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-22-2010, 10:23 PM
lloydi12345 lloydi12345 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 103
Default

Sorry for the delay in the reply..Thank you guys for all the reply.. Is it okay if I'll use this type of programmer? It is working well and it is very cheap.


Reply With Quote
Reply   Post New Thread

Tags
, , , ,


Related Site Pages
Section Title
Worksheet Performance-based assessments for digital circuit competencies


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help ( programming pic16f84a) hussainee1988 Programmer's Corner 4 01-10-2010 07:35 PM
programming pic16f84a hussainee1988 Programmer's Corner 6 12-10-2009 03:39 PM
Obscure programming languages Mark44 Programmer's Corner 4 09-02-2008 07:03 PM
troubleshooting. trying to identify a component and problem John68 The Projects Forum 5 12-13-2007 10:01 PM
68000 Programming problem JLam Programmer's Corner 0 02-15-2005 08:08 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:39 AM.


User-posted content, unless source quoted, is licensed under a Creative Commons Public Domain License.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.