All About Circuits Forum  

Go Back   All About Circuits Forum > Electronics Forums > General Electronics Chat

Notices

General Electronics Chat Discussion forum for general chat about anything electronics related, including asking questions about material in the All About Circuits E-book, Worksheets, and Videos.

Reply   Post New Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2010, 01:59 AM
david101 david101 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Default start/run capacitor motor=do i need the start capacitor?

hi guys, motor specs: ~10amp, 115vac 72s/20r mfd 480v capacitors. so ill get to the point :P i want to try and run it with only the run capacitor. today i tried it and when i set everything up the motor turned slowly then the circuit breaker went off. now i think there could be 2 reasons for this, 1 being in my title (no start capacitor--the motor wont be under load (only its own) while starting) but i also used low gauge (22 i think) wire to just test it because the motor is on a plug which i don't want to cut just yet, so i used the low gauge just for testing. so my question :P would the motor turning slowly then blowing the breaker be caused by the no start capacitor, incorrect wiring (im gonna try thick gauge tomorrow) or both? is there a way to only use the run capacitor? it'll save me a few bucks on a low budget project :P thanks in advance, david
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2010, 11:26 AM
mcgyvr mcgyvr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 2,798
Default

Yes you typically need the start capacitor.. Without one the motor will just sit there and hum and not "start". And please use the correct wire gauge and properly rated circuit breaker to avoid a fire.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-30-2010, 03:46 PM
SgtWookie's Avatar
SgtWookie SgtWookie is offline
Expert Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In the vast midwest of the USA; CST
Posts: 21,997
Default

If you had a way to spin the motor in the correct direction at nearly it's operating speed before applying power, then you might get away with not using a start capacitor.

However, if the power failed for a few moments (allowing the motor to stop) and then came back on, or you partially stalled it, your motor would rapidly overheat.

Don't try to directly connect something like an electric drill to the motor's shaft. It will likely "get away" from you and cause a hazardous situation.
__________________
General info:
If you have a question, please start a thread/topic. I do not provide gratis assistance via PM nor E-mail, as that would violate the intent of this Board, which is sharing knowledge ... and deprives you of other knowledgeable input.

Last edited by SgtWookie; 08-01-2010 at 08:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2010, 02:03 AM
david101 david101 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Default

thanks for the replies guys. i ended up hooking up fatter wire and same thing happened. so to see whether it was cause of the missing start cap i ended up winding string on the shaft, pulling and getting it up to speed and then plugging it in, and it works pretty good. so i guess ill go out and grab a start cap now that i know the motor is a good one. i do have one question thought if anyone wants to answer it--this motor was made for an OEM manufacturer so there isn't really any diagrams on bodine's site (i'm writing an email now). i wired it according to a photo apparently emailed to another guy from bodine form a similar motor withsame colours etc. motor runs fine when its up to speed so i doubt wiring is a problem..but my question is it looks like this motor doesnt have a centrifugal switch. looks like in the schematic, both caps are in parallel with eachother and the start cap just has a switch. would i be able to use a regular switch and flick it off really quick at start up (like a momentary switch) or should i use soemthing fancy to measure the current and let it turn off like that? i figure long as i'm attentive and turn it off quickly it should be ok, but i'm not completely sure hah.

thanks, david
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2010, 04:14 PM
rvh002@gmail.com's Avatar
rvh002@gmail.com rvh002@gmail.com is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 118
Default

There is a very good discription of single phase motors and the start and run capacitors in the section at the top of this page under AC, Find motors under Tesslar etc.
A start capacitor is exactly that. It strarts the motor in one direction and then "falls out of the circuit" It does not use current during running and there is no need to switch it out of circuit.
A good rule of thumb is 25micro farad per horse power. Make sure the voltage is in spec. (at least double the operating voltage)
__________________
VanEasy
Reply With Quote
Reply   Post New Thread

Tags
, , ,


Related Site Pages
Section Title
Worksheet AC motor control circuits
Worksheet AC motor theory
Textbook Single-phase induction motors : Ac Motors
Textbook Tesla polyphase induction motors : Ac Motors
Worksheet Mutual inductance
Worksheet Lock-out / Tag-out
Worksheet Energy, Work, and Power
Video Lecture Wire and Cable - Basic Components and Technical Notation
Textbook Automotive alternator : Ac Circuits
Textbook Fuses : Physics Of Conductors And Insulators


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A problem of "overunity" in a switched capacitor bank circuit?! David E. Cowlishaw Off-Topic 3 07-23-2010 07:33 PM
A/C start capacitor Bobert General Electronics Chat 2 07-13-2010 07:59 PM
Capacitor Start Motor Stopping tigerfish0102 General Electronics Chat 10 01-23-2010 08:36 PM
start and run capacitor bcinu General Electronics Chat 1 12-31-2009 10:43 PM
Need help finding AC Start Capacitor Beansgood General Electronics Chat 0 11-12-2009 02:20 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:20 AM.


User-posted content, unless source quoted, is licensed under a Creative Commons Public Domain License.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.