All About Circuits Forum  

Go Back   All About Circuits Forum > Electronics Forums > The Projects Forum

Notices

The Projects Forum Working on an electronics project and would like some suggestions, help or critiques? If you would like to comment or assist others with their projects, this is the place to do it.

Reply   Post New Thread

Old 07-28-2010, 09:34 PM

Default Pulsing Circuit for DC Solenoid

I am an artist that is getting into kinetic sculpture, and my latest idea is to use solenoids to make strings of pennant flags bounce up and down (whereas, in the past, I've used motors to make them do other things). I was thinking of using a DC push/pull solenoid with a long stroke to make the end of the string move, and I've been told that I need to build a pulsing circuit if I want the solenoid to continuously move up/down.

First, I was wondering if there are any simple tutorials on the web to build such a circuit. I am hoping to have the bouncing get continuously faster and more frequent, until the flags are bouncing around like crazy, and then calm back down again until they come to a complete stop for a little while. Should I use a micro controller to control this or is there an easier/other way?

Second, is a DC solenoid even the right tool to use in this application? Or is there such a thing that moves up and down continuously without the need of a pulsing circuit?

Thanks for your help!
Old 07-28-2010, 10:08 PM

You can use a 555 timer to control the solenoid. In astable mode, you can configure the on/off cycles. Bonus is a small parts count and a simple design. Post if you need some help designing this circuit...
aceggert (07-30-2010)
Old 07-28-2010, 11:42 PM

why not just use a motor to wind and unwind the string on a shaft or bobbin or something?
Old 07-29-2010, 05:00 PM

Alicia,