All About Circuits Forum  

Go Back   All About Circuits Forum > Electronics Forums > General Electronics Chat

Notices

General Electronics Chat Discussion forum for general chat about anything electronics related, including asking questions about material in the All About Circuits E-book, Worksheets, and Videos.

Reply   Post New Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-25-2010, 09:15 AM
haroonasaeed haroonasaeed is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 9
Default dld semester project

hi can some1 plz tell me that what wud be the short and comprehensive project for digital logic design
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-27-2010, 07:18 AM
rickmartin rickmartin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Can you be more specific? If you are asking for help deciding on a digital logic project for a school project, you have several good choices: (simple) logic probe, flip-flop with LEDs, pulse generator, 555 timer circuits, (more complex) pic controller, PLC. Tell us more and we can help more.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rickmartin For This Useful Post:
haroonasaeed (06-02-2010)
  #3  
Old 06-02-2010, 04:51 PM
haroonasaeed haroonasaeed is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 9
Default

i am working on random number generator circuit and actually i want to make a dice...i dont know how to generate a random ...but i do know that after generating i will show it by bcd decoder and than i will use seven segment to get the output..can you plea help me in this case that how can i generate a random number??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-02-2010, 08:43 PM
retched's Avatar
retched retched is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 5,198
Blog Entries: 14
Default

There is no TRUE random number. You can use a few techniques to fake a random number.

For instance, you can make a few lists of numbers in your own random order:
LIST A 5,3,6,2,1,4
LIST B 1,2,4,6,3,5
LIST C 6,1,5,2,4,3

Do 10 lists.

And you can use a counter to count time for the roll. The user can press a button to start "shaking the dice" and press it again to "throw" the dice.

Take the time beteween the two button presses.

You can use the last digit of the timer (0-9) to tell the dice code which LIST to pull the random number from.
__________________
-rm-
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-03-2010, 03:24 PM
n1ist n1ist is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Default

You can use a fast counter that runs while a button is pressed (to roll the dice). If the counter runs fast enough, human reaction time is slow enough so the result is random.
/mike
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-03-2010, 09:09 PM
haroonasaeed haroonasaeed is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 9
Default

ohh thats cool.....thanks im gonna try this
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-03-2010, 09:46 PM
Bill_Marsden's Avatar
Bill_Marsden Bill_Marsden is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Dallas, TX (GMT-5 w/ DST)
Posts: 19,044
Blog Entries: 5
Default

Be sure to have really good regulation on the power supply, since minor variation in current can favor some number over others. It won't be that obvious, unless you track the number over a lot of presses.
__________________
..
"Good enough is enemy of the best." An old engineering saying, Author unknown.

General info:
If you have a question, please start a thread/topic. I do not provide gratis assistance via PM nor E-mail, as that would violate the intent of this Board, which is sharing knowledge ... and deprives you of other knowledgeable input. Thanks for the verbage Wookie.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-03-2010, 09:54 PM
bertus's Avatar
bertus bertus is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Amsterdam,Holland (GMT + 1)
Posts: 12,252
Default

Hello,

Take a look at the "linear feedback shift register":
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linear_...shift_register

Bertus
__________________
You don't have to know everything, if you know where to find it.
When you do ask questions, you may look stupid.
When you do NOT ask questions, you will STAY stupid.

It would be nice to have the Timezone ( GMT +/- x ) in the location field in the profile.
(User CP -> Edit Your Details)
Reply With Quote
Reply   Post New Thread

Tags
, ,


Related Site Pages
Section Title
Video Lecture Representative System (Part 3) - Executing a Program - Microprocessors
Textbook Finite State Machines : Sequential Circuits Counters
Textbook Introduction : Combinational Logic Functions


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to post a project to the collection Dave The Completed Projects Collection 1 01-30-2013 08:15 PM
Feedback Amplifier Design Project @ 5th Semester TheExtremist Homework Help 16 05-01-2010 04:42 PM
Help needed for Digital Communication Semester Project assadabbasi Radio and Communications 1 04-01-2009 01:03 AM
Digital Communication Semester Project assadabbasi Programmer's Corner 1 03-13-2009 06:19 AM
What is a Project? jpanhalt Feedback and Suggestions 8 02-09-2009 02:17 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:59 PM.


User-posted content, unless source quoted, is licensed under a Creative Commons Public Domain License.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.