Debounce matrix keypad

diamondman

Joined May 23, 2010
I have been a C++ coder for some time now, but i wanted to get into some hardware, and after taking a digital logic class in college i found the transition between code and digital components quite easy, however I still suck at analog so that is partially my problem.

My project I am working on is a 4 pin security system and i need the input from the keypad to be bounce free(for obvious reasons). I found this site and it seems to present an easy enough solution (for someone who sucks at analog circuits like me) for debouncing a push button. Unfortunately, I don't know if this circuit will work with a matrix keypad the same as it would with normal push buttons or switches, if i have to do something special, or if i am completely SOL. Thanks to replies in advanced.

Also, I have seen some posts of people suggesting pics to decode and debounce the matrix outputs automatically, but for now i am trying to get everything working using only gates, (de)multiplexers, latches, etc.. (It would kind of defeat the point to have a state machine made out of gates and latches get it's info through a microcontroller)

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Keypads only make a single contact at a time. The dual NAND debouncer requires the switch input to be a SPDT type.

One dodge for the keypad is to use a Schmitt trigger gate. The keypress can discharge a capacitor through a resistor to suppress the bounce, and the Schmitt trigger will signal on the absolute voltage change.

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
Here is another method from an MIT site for push button switches:

Unfortunately, the original link is dead, so here are notes copied from when it was up.

Source: http://www.mitedu.freeserve.co.uk/Circuits/Switching/debounce.htm

Design :Andy Collinson