All About Circuits Forum  

Go Back   All About Circuits Forum > Electronics Forums > General Electronics Chat

Notices

General Electronics Chat Discussion forum for general chat about anything electronics related, including asking questions about material in the All About Circuits E-book, Worksheets, and Videos.

Reply   Post New Thread

Old 05-18-2010, 05:13 AM

Default How do I 12v to 6v (not 5v) using 7805?

Hi,
I have been searching for this for a while but found nothing.

I have made the circuit from 12v to 5v using the circuit from this datasheet
http://www.amplebiz.com/spec/L7805.pdf
On page 18 (figure 19), but without the resistors R1 and R2.

But I want 6v instead of the stock 5v this regulator outputs.
I am new to electronics and cannot understand the formula for R1 and R2 to make this 6v.

Can someone please explain to me this formula:
VO = Vxx (1+R2/R1)+Id*R2

What is the 'Id' variable otherwise I might be able to work it out?
Old 05-18-2010, 07:30 AM

Id is the chip's supply current, between positive input and it's ground or common terminal.

It's in Table 4 of the data sheet.

Unlike for a regulator that is designed to be variable, the Id current is not fully specified. The datasheet just says it will not more than 6mA, so you may have a bit of trial and error.

Try a 100 Ohm resistor between the reg common and your circuit 0V. That will need 10mA to drop the one volt you need.

Then add a 470 Ohm resistor in series with a 470 Ohm preset between the regulator output and common, that will allow you to adjust the reference current between roughly 5 and 10 mA. Together with the actual Id of the chip, you should be able to adjust the preset for 6V out.
Old 05-18-2010, 12:32 PM

You can use an LM317 variable regulator or get an LM7806 in place of the 7805.
Old 05-18-2010, 01:07 PM
Super Moderator

You can also use a similar configuration the LM317 on the 7805 to bump its voltage up. Personally I'd buy a new regulator.