Voltage spikes at grounded logic inputs

thenobsta

Joined Apr 10, 2010
Hey everyone!

I'm an undergraduate in a physics lab, and I have been charged with making a fail-safe system for one of the experiments. I'm having some troubles, and wondered if you guys could help out.
As part of my system I have built a circuit (schematic attached) that when it receives a signal it shuts off another part of the experiment. I am monitoring 6 different parts of the experiment, and I have split those parts into two sections on the circuit. One section receives signals from 3 flow switches, and the other receives signals from a flow switch and the comparator. When the flow switch or comparator leaves the defined range my circuit should send a signal to shut off different parts of the experiment and not allow them to turn on. This is done by recieveing a signal through an OR gate, and sending the output of the OR gate to an RS flip-flop. The flip-flop is then connected to some relays that control different parts of the experiment. The circuit that I have built functions how I want it to. However it seems to have be very sensitive to ESD and transient changes in the ground. That is, whenever there is an ESD near or on the box containing it the flip-flop gets triggered and changes state. Also, when an electronic device is plugged into a receptacle in the wall (near to where my power supply is plugged in) the flip-flop gets triggered and changes state. I think this is due to a voltage spike at the input at the OR gate (which are all grounded when not receiving a signal).

A few notes:
1. I've made sure that everything is grounded through the ground coming through my power supply, including all of the unused inputs to the OR Gate.