Need Help on a Throwie Driver

Scrixx

Joined Jan 19, 2010
Hello there I wanted to create LED throwies which are wirelessly powered..

http://mindtomachine.blogspot.com/search/label/wireless power

I found this and have been wanting to make one, I'm new at electronics and a bit confused on the driver schematic..

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_8rUG0mGO56Y/S039VNbVnOI/AAAAAAAAA5Y/1uMH962W4dw/s1600-h/throwies.jpg

Not really sure which components to use and how to connect them together =/.
Here's a few questions:
What is the U1 at the bottom left?
What is the 10n at the bottom of the schematic?
What is the 1n that is right on top of it?( 1microfarad capacitor? )

I'm very confused and if anyone could help explain the connections of the components and which ones they are I'd really appreciate it. Thank you.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Not really sure which components to use and how to connect them together =/.
Here's a few questions:
What is the U1 at the bottom left?
U1 is the 555 timer.
What is the 10n at the bottom of the schematic?
That is a 10 Ohm resistor.
What is the 1n that is right on top of it?( 1microfarad capacitor? )
That is a 1 nanoFarad capacitor.
1nF = 0.001uF (microFarad)
1nF = 1000pF (picoFarad)

I'm very confused and if anyone could help explain the connections of the components and which ones they are I'd really appreciate it. Thank you.
Hopefully, the information provided is sufficient. If not, don't be afraid to ask more questions.

Scrixx

Joined Jan 19, 2010
Thank you, it helped, But I'm still confused about the U1.. so is it the type of 555 chip?

And also the zigzag lines represent resistors right?

5k Ohm?

27k ohm?

Then I searched the IRF540 and mosfet. I'm not quite sure how to attach that.. Does the middle pin attach to the 10ohm resistor and the left pin to negative part of the supply and the right pin to the positive terminal of the supply?