Negative peak detector

cboot

Joined Nov 27, 2009
Hi,

I am trying to make a negative peak detector using a LM324 for a low frequency (e.g., 440Hz), low voltage (500mV max) signal. I'm kinda lost because this op amp is biased at 0V so I think I need some kind of virtual ground, but I'm not very experienced... could someone give me a hand?

Thanks!

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Hiya Cboot,
Welcome to AAC! We're generally a pretty friendly and helpful bunch. Hang around and learn stuff!
I am trying to make a negative peak detector using a LM324 for a low frequency (e.g., 440Hz), low voltage (500mV max) signal.
OK, the LM324 is a really ancient, Really SUPER slow operational amplifier. Not good for your application.

It would help a great deal if you posted your circuit, so that we can see what you're really trying to do.
I'm kinda lost because this op amp is biased at 0V so I think I need some kind of virtual ground, but I'm not very experienced... could someone give me a hand?
We'll give it a good go - but you have to give us a bit more information.

Circuit diagrams (schematics) are the language that we speak around here.
They eliminate almost any ambiguities (uncertanties), and almost everyone can understand them, even if English is not their primary language.

.png format is what I prefer. The images load fast, and you can create them quickly using MS Paint.

I look forward to helping you with your situation - please post your schematic.

(Use the "Go Advanced" button below the text box, then "Manage Attachments" button to attach your images.

Last edited:

cboot

Joined Nov 27, 2009
Hiya Cboot,
Welcome to AAC! We're generally a pretty friendly and helpful bunch. Hang around and learn stuff!
Thank you :)

OK, the LM324 is a really ancient, Really SUPER slow operational amplifier. Not good for your application.