All About Circuits Forum  

Go Back   All About Circuits Forum > Electronics Forums > The Projects Forum

Notices

The Projects Forum Working on an electronics project and would like some suggestions, help or critiques? If you would like to comment or assist others with their projects, this is the place to do it.

Reply   Post New Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2006, 07:58 AM
emmy emmy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gold Coast Australia
Posts: 22
Default DC to DC voltage Doubler

Hi,

I have a requirement for 3 stages of a project which I am upgrading.

Stage 1 - Take a 12V 7Ah battery and double the voltage,

Stage 2 - Charge a capacitor with the 24V result of stage 1

Stage 3 - use the stored voltage in the capacitor and send a pulse (min 4msec) using an SCR or Triac or ????.
This stage will need to be repeated up 32 times as 32 different lines will need to have a pulse sent. so 32 individual SCR's etc.

The pulse amps must be more than 800mA.
Most basic Circuits possiable as they need to be robust.

I currently perform this task with just the battery and a lots of toggle switches but the pulse is not as good as it could be, distance can be a problem. Several other systems use the description as above but are very expensive to purchase so I am going to try to build my own. (or try to)

I have approached it in these stages as I can improve the model as I go.

So there you have it any help would be great.

Best Regards

Emmy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2006, 08:51 AM
mrmeval mrmeval is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 833
Default

LM2586 will do the doubling and seems simple
http://www.national.com/ds/LM/LM2586.pdf#page=23

For the capacitor charging you'd need to monitor current flow to the capacitor, this can be done with a low ohm resistor. When the current stops flowing you then trigger your discharge device.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2006, 09:16 AM
emmy emmy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gold Coast Australia
Posts: 22
Default

mrmeval,

Looks great thanks for that.
My only question is on the stats page 23 to be exact it states only .6A @ 24V
I require an absolute minium of .8A @ 24V is there some way I can do this with this device. If I can't get the Amps the thing won't go bang.
ps I am fireing fuse heads for (fireworks)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2006, 09:41 AM
emmy emmy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gold Coast Australia
Posts: 22
Default

mrmeval,

You have put me on the right track.

LM2588 will do the job I think.
I will invest in the componets tomorrow and see if I can get it working.
The move to stage 2

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2006, 03:13 PM
mrmeval mrmeval is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 833
Default

No problem. I saw the 5amp one but thought the 3amp would work. Do you read that as not producing 3amp? Oh, BTW I am getting an RSS feed and for some reason did not see your response I'm not sure why. Guess I should check on email notification.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-09-2009, 06:56 AM
beannie beannie is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Default Can I ask??

The site that you reffered to him is good but it could only range from a minimum input of 5V to be multiplied or doubled (I saw on that page..). I'm having difficulty with my project., I only have a minimum DC input of 0.6 up to a maximum of 4.5V dc. how can I ever multiply our double its voltage rating?? please help..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-09-2009, 07:32 AM
emmy emmy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gold Coast Australia
Posts: 22
Default Ask away

Beannie,

I solved my voltage double problem with this

http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView...r&form=KEYWORD

Works a treat !

Although the input voltage you are quoting may be a little low for this unit.

Emmy
__________________
I believe in Big Bangs
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-09-2009, 07:16 PM
Bernard's Avatar
Bernard Bernard is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tucson AZ USA
Posts: 3,191
Default

As I understand it ,800mA is firing current and is determined by cap size , charged V, & cap & line resistance, not power supply current rating. Power supply is disconnected from cap. at time of firing? I designed and used cap. discharge "blasters" using early SCR's around 1957.
Reply With Quote
Reply   Post New Thread

Tags
,


Related Site Pages
Section Title
Textbook The Silicon-Controlled Rectifier (SCR) : Thyristors
Textbook Voltage multipliers : Diodes And Rectifiers


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cascode Configuration Hurt_it_Circuit General Electronics Chat 23 08-07-2013 03:19 AM
dc supply aimaldaudkhan General Electronics Chat 7 08-03-2013 05:10 PM
Two simple questions, but I'm troubled by them. lajka General Electronics Chat 8 01-14-2012 03:00 PM
3.5A 15V voltage regulator for DC motor zhaoruibing The Projects Forum 7 11-08-2011 04:47 AM
Control unit to Convert DC 90 volts to constant voltage source of DC 45 Volts. johnraj General Electronics Chat 3 10-05-2008 05:22 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:00 PM.


User-posted content, unless source quoted, is licensed under a Creative Commons Public Domain License.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.