Inkjet or laser printer for UV PCB making

Markd77

Joined Sep 7, 2009
I'm getting a new printer anyway and want to make PCBs by printing onto transparency paper, UV exposing and then etching. Would you advise getting a laser or inkjet printer for best results and how much do the results differ?

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
I've been hearing about some new techniques for making PCBs with inkjets by directly printing on the copper (major modification of the printer is required). The old tried and true technique is still using a laser printer though.

http://www.fullnet.com/~tomg/gooteepc.htm

Just reread the part about using UV, which means you want photographic. IMO, laser is still the way to go, as the toner is a lot darker, but I've never gotten the photographic method to work for me.

Last edited:

k7elp60

Joined Nov 4, 2008
I have been making PCB's for over 4 years in the method you describe. I use an Epson R200 to print my transparancies. It is an injet printer.
Attached is the bottom of one of my boards. This board is about 3"X4".

Attachments

bluebrakes

Joined Oct 17, 2009
I've not tried inkjet printer method, I use the press-n-peel stuff on my brother 1430 laser printer. It works quite well, although it doesn't leave perfect traces in places. Despite the time you leave the iron on (sometimes i take 10mins with it).

a couple of the traces can be a little jaggered or have breaks in them,which require a touch up with a pen. For this, I use fine tip paint markers (not pernament marker).

I think the best method, which of course is fairly expensive, is using photosentive boards and UV box. I used this method at school and certainly gives the best results.

AlexR

Joined Jan 16, 2008
It depends on the printer.
A good photo quality inkjet running at its maximum resolution works very well producing high resolution transparencies with good density but most of the general office quality inkjets I've tried can't produce enough density to give reliable results.