All About Circuits Forum  

Go Back   All About Circuits Forum > Software, Microcomputing, and Communications Forums > Radio and Communications

Notices

Radio and Communications Discussion forum for all aspects of RF and communication engineering, including antennas, modulation regimes, RF circuits and filter design, and telematics.

Reply   Post New Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2009, 06:02 AM
veerasamy veerasamy is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Default PLL loop filter design

Please help on how to design PLL loop filter for specific loop band width? ( what is loop bandwidth anyway?). I have charge pump current and VCO sensitivity as input.

Thanks &Regards,
V.Veerasamy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2009, 07:03 AM
t_n_k t_n_k is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,924
Default

Try this pdf application note http://www.national.com/an/AN/AN-46.pdffor some background reading ...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2009, 02:05 PM
hgmjr's Avatar
hgmjr hgmjr is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tennessee, USA (GMT-6)
Posts: 9,030
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by veerasamy View Post
Please help on how to design PLL loop filter for specific loop band width? ( what is loop bandwidth anyway?). I have charge pump current and VCO sensitivity as input.

Thanks &Regards,
V.Veerasamy
What is the part number of the PLL device have you chosen to use? And how are you planning to use the PLL?

hgmjr
__________________
"No human being should be allowed to have this much fun."
hgmjr

May we never lose compassion for those who need our help and encouragement.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2009, 03:52 AM
veerasamy veerasamy is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Default PLL loop filter design

Thanks t_n_k. To hgmjr: I am using PLL with integrated VCO (AD4350).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-12-2009, 07:29 AM
Tesla23 Tesla23 is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 231
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by veerasamy View Post
Thanks t_n_k. To hgmjr: I am using PLL with integrated VCO (AD4350).
Use ADIsimPLL: http://www.analog.com/adisimpll
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-12-2009, 11:56 AM
hgmjr's Avatar
hgmjr hgmjr is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tennessee, USA (GMT-6)
Posts: 9,030
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by veerasamy View Post
Thanks t_n_k. To hgmjr: I am using PLL with integrated VCO (AD4350).
Are you refering to the ADF4350 made by Analog Devices? I could not locate any information on the AD4350.

hgmjr
__________________
"No human being should be allowed to have this much fun."
hgmjr

May we never lose compassion for those who need our help and encouragement.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-12-2009, 12:34 PM
veerasamy veerasamy is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Default re: PLL loop BW

to hgmjr: Yes i am using ADF4350.
to Tesla23: I am using AdsimPLL. but in AdsimPLL it assumes phase detector frequency and channel spacing are same. For me they are different
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-12-2009, 12:55 PM
Tesla23 Tesla23 is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 231
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by veerasamy View Post
to hgmjr: Yes i am using ADF4350.
to Tesla23: I am using AdsimPLL. but in AdsimPLL it assumes phase detector frequency and channel spacing are same. For me they are different
If you are doing a Fractional-N design then make sure that you select this on ADIsimPLL, then you can select the modulus on the Chip page, and you will see the channel spacing is different to the PD frequency.

As an example, if you choose the ADF4350 on the first page of the wizard and accept all the default parameter values you will get a Fractional-N design where the channel spacing is different to the PD frequency.
Reply With Quote
Reply   Post New Thread

Tags
, , ,


Related Site Pages
Section Title
Worksheet Phase-locked loops


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Design signal in Matlab ethan007 Programmer's Corner 2 05-12-2009 02:50 PM
RC Filter Design laguna92651 General Electronics Chat 2 10-08-2008 04:22 PM
Can anyone tell me how to design the microstrip filter? Justintin General Electronics Chat 5 02-17-2008 06:10 AM
Filter Design low pass passive filter. saint_jay77 General Electronics Chat 1 08-03-2007 07:37 AM
Filter design chuck General Electronics Chat 2 12-08-2006 06:04 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:16 AM.


User-posted content, unless source quoted, is licensed under a Creative Commons Public Domain License.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.