EPIRB tester

artificer

Joined Sep 17, 2009
Hi everyone,

I need to create a device for an EPIRB (Emergency Position Indicating Radio Beacon), which are used onboard various sea going vessels to signal maritime distress (for more info: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Distress_radiobeacon). Once activated, the EPIRB transmits a signal via 406 MHZ to overhead satellites and aircraft. To transmit this signal when not in distress is illegal as well as a potential PITA. I work as a machinery technician for the United States Coast Guard and have an upcoming event before crab season where I will be testing EPIRB's for commercial fisherman (a fully functional test, not the self test feature they can do themselves). I have a shielded box where you place the EPIRB for testing. How it works is like this: the EPIRB's I will be testing can be manually activated with a switch or activated by going into the water. On the underside of the top of the unit there are several recessed screws. Water creates continuity between these screws and activates the unit. When we have tested them in the past, you would place the EPIRB in a bracket in a shielded box and use a stiff length of wire to create continuity between the screw heads and activate the device. then you would shut the shielded box, blocking the signal from reaching the satellite. The only access to the box is what looks like a coaxial cable connection mounted in the side where you attach the computer so that it can analyze the EPIRB's signal. EPIRB's will transmit usually every 50 seconds to one minute, theoretically allowing one to activate it and seal the box, then monitor the signal output via computer so you could deactivate it in the interval. Unfortunately, in practice, this doesn't always go so seamlessly, since some EPIRB's will transmit immediately upon activation.