Transformer

xpn

Joined Aug 25, 2009
Hi All,

I'm very new to this electronics stuff and hope that someone can help me. I've searched the forums but I don't think I know quite how to phrase my question to get some results so I apologize if this is a common question.

While im learning 'electronics' I like to visualize the theory behind what I am doing. Now, I came across transformers in which voltage is stepped up/down by a ratio of turns between the primary and secondary coils. Now... upon reading a few electronics tutorials, the common explanation of what is happening is as follows:-

As voltage is increased from primary to secondary coils, current is decreased by the same ratio.

As voltage is decreased from primary to secondary coils, current is increased by the same ratio.

Now this is the bit that I can't understand. In my early learning, I was taught that voltage is the potential difference, or force that allowed current to flow (I hope I got that right).

So.. if this is the case, how can less force (voltage) lead to an increase in current (flow) ?

If you haven't guessed im visualizing flowing water to try and understand the flow of electrons.

Any help will be appreciated.

KL7AJ

Joined Nov 4, 2008
Hi All,

I'm very new to this electronics stuff and hope that someone can help me. I've searched the forums but I don't think I know quite how to phrase my question to get some results so I apologize if this is a common question.

While im learning 'electronics' I like to visualize the theory behind what I am doing. Now, I came across transformers in which voltage is stepped up/down by a ratio of turns between the primary and secondary coils. Now... upon reading a few electronics tutorials, the common explanation of what is happening is as follows:-

As voltage is increased from primary to secondary coils, current is decreased by the same ratio.

As voltage is decreased from primary to secondary coils, current is increased by the same ratio.