Actuator control

Tcg178

Joined Aug 15, 2009
I am a newbie and am attempting to build a control system to make a linear actuator move up/down in about 1/2 second intervals. So, up for 1/2 second down for 1/2 second and repeat this process until it is switched off. I want to do this as simply as possible. The actuator has no built in limiting and I am planning on using a 12v power supply. Any ideas? diagrams?

Tcg178

Joined Aug 15, 2009
I would prefer to use electronics..but whatever is easiest. and no, i don't have limit switches, i don't really know what type to use either.

jj_alukkas

Joined Jan 8, 2009
Do you need very accurate 1/2 second timing or just approximate?

What is the current and voltage rating of your actuator? Also will you be needing to stop the actuator for any other purpose other than switching it off?? Under my current idea, you need an actuator control that makes it rock to and fro the momet you switch it on till battery goes out right??

Tcg178

Joined Aug 15, 2009
Just approx timing..but close to or less than 1/2 second..and yes, i need it to go back and forth more or less. it is an actuator from a power door lock system for a vehicle, so basic 12vdc ran actuator

Amberwolf

Joined May 2, 2008
Simplest way would be to use one of the 555 astable circuits (probably already one in the archives here) driving a power transistor that operates your actuator. Depending on the current draw of the actuator, then with it's 50% duty cycle you might need to heatsink whatever power transistor you use.

Using a MOSFET instead of a plain transistor will make it more power efficient if the currents are high.

jj_alukkas

Joined Jan 8, 2009