The old days

CDRIVE

Joined Jul 1, 2008
Yes Bill,
Kinda like changing cps to Hz, it all makes perfect sense :)
I think it was 1967, while working at a 3rd & > echelon maintenance facility repairing and refurbishing ARC34 and TRAC75 military aircraft radios, when a memo came down from the DOD stating that all specifications and recorded data related to frequency will now be given in Hertz. Apparently in honor of Heinrich Rudolf Hertz. I was a junior tech at the time and had no idea who he was. Back then he simply wasn't as well known as Marconi. Two world wars with Germany certainly couldn't have helped either! :D

http://www.ideafinder.com/history/inventors/hertz.htm

BTW. Probably not accurate; but when I think of Photocell vs LDR I think of a complete circuit vs the controlling element of it respectively.

Last edited:

Oxbo Rene

Joined Feb 20, 2009
I think it was 1967, while working at a 3rd & > echelon maintenance facility repairing and refurbishing ARC34 and TRAC75 military aircraft radios
By golly !
I used to work on ARC34's, even a couple of ARC3's (really old/simple).
lemme see, I believe VHF101's, I can't remember nowadays, several kinds.
Worked on C141's, F4's, F102's, occasional C130, was at Clark, Udorn, Bangkok, Tainan.
Used to love sitting in the pilot's seat and calling the tower for radio checks, etc.
If it didn't work = Red X, jerk the radio, take it to the shop, throw it on the bench, dig in....
Oh yeah, Chris....
I have a yard light out front of my house that runs by an LDR. It always stays on longer than seems proper (mornings), and always seems to come on way before it should (evenings). So, I see it as not quite accurate for sensible applications.
However, I would propose proximity sensors. Out in the VAB near where I work they have proximity sensors that turn on the lights whenever you come to an elevator or bathroom, they work pretty darn good, etc...

Last edited:

CDRIVE

Joined Jul 1, 2008
By golly !