Design for Variable Frequency and D.C /w LM555

franzschluter

Joined Jun 1, 2009
Hi guys.

I know it is possible for example using 74LS123..Those with dual package.. First set to produce desired frequency and doing it variable and then using the second set for adjusting and triggering the PWM.
I have a working circuit for this also...

But what I have been wondering is if it would be possible to build this using LM555?

Frequency Range 1kHz-60kHz.
D.C: 10%-80%

How would this look like? I have some experience using LM555 and know a bit of the basics about it...But there are for sure people here who know them inside and out...Output should be able to trigger a transistor. Perhaps using two potis.. 1 for frequency and 1 for PW/D.C. I have yet no idea how to make a schematic for this.

I'd like to connect them to some loudspeaker/oscilloscope and just for fun listen to how this would sound like.

I think I am also afraid if frequency is varied over a great range it would affect the outputs amplitude? Would it not?

Cheers
Franz

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

The frequency range will be to large for using the LM 555 or 74 123.
Better make a triangle oscillator and use a comparator for the PWM.

Greetings,
Bertus

franzschluter

Joined Jun 1, 2009
Hello,

The frequency range will be to large for using the LM 555 or 74 123.
Better make a triangle oscillator and use a comparator for the PWM.

Greetings,
Bertus
You mean real triangle oscillator? Or sawtooth using capacitors? I am trying to figure out how I should go about this.. Any other suggestion? Would a PIC be able to do this variable Frequency output at a stable rate with respect to amplitude?

franzschluter

Joined Jun 1, 2009