CD4017 Stacker Circuit

Ryan_Shephard

Joined May 9, 2009
OK... I've seen it on YouTube, so I know it can be done. Unfortunately I cannot seem to find out what (IC?, capacitors?, relays? transistors?) they are using to keep the LED circuits powered on the preceeding LED's once the 4017 switches to the next output.

I AM still fairly new to the electronic scene, so please be kind ;)

What I AM looking for is using the CD4017 and a sequence of LEDs to show the progressive "ready state" of sequencing components:

12VDC input
555 timers sequence/delay/prolong the assorted components
There is a "firing" relay that's set only to be in "closed" state once the other components have "reset" to their original positions/states.

I'd like each component, sequentially, to fire an LED (starting at the bottem). These need to stay lit, as the following components each light up a progressive led, until the led "bar" is fully lit, visually signalling that the "firing" sequence is ready to be repeated. The signal from this starting relay will be used as the reset for the 4017, which needs to wait for each of the reset states from the components to fire the LEDs again.

IF there is a previous thread that covers this, can someone please point me in the right direction?

Otherwise, some suggestions or links to similar projects would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
Try the thread by Oxbo Rene ,LED sequencing, page 74. Uses 4017 just for four LED, but can be easily expanded, skipping " 0 " which is on at reset , there are 9 positions available.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Try the thread by Oxbo Rene ,LED sequencing, page 74. Uses 4017 just for four LED, but can be easily expanded, skipping " 0 " which is on at reset , there are 9 positions available.
No, Oxbo's circuit can't be expanded beyond 4 LEDs without a driver circuit, as the 4017 has very limited current source ability - particularly if you want to drive logic with it at the same time.

Bernard