When is the right time for buying a Scope?

penguin

Joined Sep 4, 2005
Oscilloscope is must-have test equipment for electronics?

Then, when is the right time to buy it?

I'm studying electronics myself for fun and career development. I began to start in automotive service area after finishing a college.

n9xv

Joined Jan 18, 2005
Then, when is the right time to buy it?
When the wife or significant other is away on a buisness trip and OOOPPPS! - - - she left the credit cards behind!

But seriously,

Buy a scope at the point when you feel it would greatly enhance your knowledge and learning ability. Really just a matter of what you can afford, and what you expect to do with it. A simple scope good up to 5-MHz can be picked up at a flea market for under $40. A midrange 20-MHZ scope can be had for $150 range. And on up to the lattest tecknologe for well into the $1000 mark.

1 - - - What type of circuitry do you want to look at?

2 - - - What frequency range will cover that type of circuitry?

3 - - - Will it be used for precise measurement "on the job", or just for tinkering/self learning etc?

That should at least point you in the right direction.

Brandon

Joined Dec 14, 2004
There are programs you can buy for the PC that come with a probe and you basically turn your computer into an oscilloscope. If you have a laptop, you're good to go, light portable oscilloscope. Not only do you have the data there, very easy to export it from the program and into say excel to do some analysis or what not since its all on the PC.

Dave

Joined Nov 17, 2003
Originally posted by Brandon@Sep 15 2005, 01:32 PM
There are programs you can buy for the PC that come with a probe and you basically turn your computer into an oscilloscope. If you have a laptop, you're good to go, light portable oscilloscope. Not only do you have the data there, very easy to export it from the program and into say excel to do some analysis or what not since its all on the PC.
[post=10355]Quoted post[/post]​