Controlling a Peltier with a Basic stamp microcontroller

TsThorsell

Joined Aug 14, 2008
Hello everyone.
I'm planning out a small project in air conditioning which will need low temperature for dehumidification and high temperature for reheat. I'm set on using a peltier element to produce the two temperatures since the loads is small. However, I run into trouble on the control side, probably due to my very small experience in electronics since I am a buildings engineer, but this is my plan:

I think I will use a Basic stamp to be the brain of the system for two reasons, it is a relatively cheap solution with great flexibility and secondly I have always wanted to play around with a micro controller (Basic stamp seems like a good one to learn on).

I will attach the cold side of the peltier directly to a cooling fin and control the cold temperature directly by adjusting the power input into the peltier element. This is where I run into my first problem:

1. How do I go from the PWM signal created by the BASIC Stamp to be able to feed the peltier which operates from 0-15.4 volts DC and 0-15 amps?

To get the high temp I am planning to use a water block in between the hot side of the peltier and a huge fan driven heat sink. The idea here is that if I need heat then I circulate water through the water block to collect it and if I do not need that much heat then I circulate less water and more heat would have to be dissipated via the the heat sink. This leads to a similar problem as above:

2. Can any 12vdc pump motor be controlled by the PWM signal of the Stamp? If not what is needed between the out put of the Stamp and the pump motor?

I have searched high and low for the answer to the first question without any luck, I now rely on you.

Regards
Thomas

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
I'm set on using a peltier element to produce the two temperatures since the loads is small.