Help with low voltage alarm circuit, Please!

Telewanger

Joined Aug 3, 2008
Hi,

I am a commercial plumber in North Carolina.

I have invented a 9 volt, magnetic reed switch activated, two conductor, high wet well alarm system. It was simple for a non electronics minded person.

The alarm is 108 Decibels. It has a push to test battery switch, and works great!

I need to put a low battery warning chirp circuit in it, so that it chirps like a smoke detector when the battery gets low, and needs to be replaced.

I called all of the smoke detector companies and they will not give out this information. They said that it is properiority information.

Does anyone know how to make one, or where to purchase such a circuit for a 9 volt project?

I would really appreciate any info! :)

Thanks,

Mike

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
A modern smoke alarm doesn't use a 100 parts. It uses an IC that was designed for a smoke alarm that has a low battery voltage detector built-in. The IC has 100 parts all in one.

You could make your own low battery detection circuit with about 10 parts but it would be on all the time and it would quickly kill the battery. By adding another 10 parts then the low battery detector would be asleep most of the time then wake for only a moment occasionally to detect the battery.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Another possibility is to use a microcontroller, set to sleep most of the time - just wake up every few hours, check the battery level quickly - if it's OK, go back to sleep. Otherwise, set the alarm clock for 10 minutes, give a chirp, and hit the snooze button.

Unfortunately, 9v is beyond the supply voltage of the uC's that I'm familar with. Basic Stamps can run from 9v due to having an internal voltage regulator, but the regulator would run the battery flat in no time.

AllVol

Joined Nov 22, 2005