Help with 555 and dimming RGB LED

Leccy-Lee

Joined Aug 2, 2008
Hi, my first post here so please be gentle, i am an Electrical Engineer but Electronics have never been my strong point, although i trying to improve that.

I have some RGB 3-colour LEDs (low-power), 4pin with Common-Cathode and i am trying to get a basic circuit allowing me to dim each colour separately and thus mix many different colours from the one led. Eventually i hope to use PIC's for this, but right now i havent got those here. So i built a simple dimmer with a 555 chip as below (only 1 led not 3 though):

Now being a novice at Electronics i figured if i make 3 of these circuits i could then control each of the 3 colours individually, however i think the "Common-Cathode" is making this not work. As i have made the 3 circuits and connected it to the led on a breadboard (bit messy) and when i adjust any of the 3 Pots, the 3 colours together dim etc, they are not controlling each colour separately but all together on any of the 3 circuits.

I assume this is because the dimming is being done on the common-cathode and therefore instead of dimming each colour, its dimming the whole set of colours in unison.

How if at all can i convert this circuit to dim each of the 3 colours individually please? Without using any PICs etc yet. All i have here right now is 3 555's and a mass of resistors/caps/diodes etc

Thanks and hoping in advance......

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Well then,
Since they're common cathode, you'll have to play with the anode side ;)

Use the common cathode as your ground (your LED's current return)

You'll still need resistors on the anodes to limit the maximum current to each of the individual R, G, B LED's inside the common module.

Get some PNP transistors on each of the three colors to control them. Emitter to more positive, collector to more negative, base to the 555 output using a 1k or so resistor.