What is a safe way to test a non-working 'torchiere lamp'?

steveray

Joined Jul 14, 2008
I have a non-working torchiere lamp. As far as I know the halogen bulb is okay, so I assume there is a fault either with the bulb connectors (contacts) or the switch.
*** What is a safe way to test the circuit at both sites (i.e., at the bulb connections and at the switch)? ***
I have a simple 'continuity tester.' Is it safe to use that (to check the bulb connectors) with the lamp 'on'?

I'm a novice with electricity and mainly want to make sure I don't electrocute myself.

(Actually, I guess if I can safely test the bulb connectors and those seem okay, I can just conclude from that that the fault is in the switch. But I assume that to do that, the power has to be on?)

Thanks. Replies appreciated.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Do not use a continuity tester with the lamp plugged in, as the continuity tester will have it's magic smoke let out, possibly with a loud "BANG!" and a bright flash. :eek:

Unplug the lamp from the wall, and remove the lamp. Check for continuity through the lamp, and from each prong of the plug to the lamp socket/bulb connectors.

I've found that the inexpensive torcherie lamps one usually finds at discount stores go bad at the switch. The contacts get burned, and they stop working.

Warning: Finger oils on the bulb can cause it to shatter when it gets hot. Handle the bulb with a clean, dry cloth or paper towel. You can clean the bulb with isopropyl alcohol.

steveray

Joined Jul 14, 2008
Unplug the lamp from the wall, and remove the lamp. Check for continuity through the lamp, and from each prong of the plug to the lamp socket/bulb connectors.
Thanks. By "remove the lamp" did you mean remove the "bulb"?

Also, what exactly does "check for continuity through the lamp" mean? (I really am a novice, sorry.)