All About Circuits Forum  

Go Back   All About Circuits Forum > Electronics Forums > General Electronics Chat

Notices

General Electronics Chat Discussion forum for general chat about anything electronics related, including asking questions about material in the All About Circuits E-book, Worksheets, and Videos.

Reply   Post New Thread

Old 05-11-2008, 02:34 AM

Post Will Reversed Polarities Kill An Inverter?

G'day mates,

I'm new to this forum, I'm also new to working with inverters.
I bought a 300W inverter off eBay and when it arrived I checked the box and found everything as promised on the sales page. My 12yo grandson who was visiting us asked what I had bought and what was I going to use it for, I told him and he wanted to try it out, I then got tied up on the phone and my grandson went to my shed with the inverter and a 240v tablelamp, he returned to tell me the inverter was not working and when I checked I seen he had reversed the polarieties on the battery...I removed the terminal clamps and placed them back the right way around but the lamp would not light.
The battery was/is fully charged.
The light globe is working as the light is now working in my living room.
Neither the power light or the fault light on the inverter come on when the inverter is attached to a fully chatged battery.
Has my grandson destroyed my inverter by conecting it wrongly to the battery?
I have no wish to tell the suppliers they sent me a faulty inverter and seek a replacement if it's my fault the inverter was dameaged...i.e. I permitted my grandson to make the connection to the battery.

Thanking you for your advice,

Bill from Auss
Old 05-11-2008, 02:50 AM

That depends quite a bit on the internal circuit. If there are diodes in the battery supply path, then no harm would have been done. If not, then all the drive circuitry might have been converted to junk.