Transistor help needed, controlling +12V with +2V signal

dprothero

Joined Mar 29, 2008
Noob here. I've read "electronics for dummies" and that's about it :)

Anyway, what I want to do is close a +12V circuit for one device using only a +2V signal from another. Basically, I'm hacking an Audio/Video 4-input switch box and I want to close the +12V circuit if a specific input is selected. The switch box has 4 led's and one of them lights up corresponding to which input is the currently switched input.

I get +2V off the + and - leads of the LED.

So, I've taken a 2N3904 NPN transistor and wired it as so:

Emitter: +12V and +2V
Base: -2V
Collector: -12V

Now, this is my best guess from reading books and online articles such as this one on this site:
http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_3/chpt_4/1.html

However, it's not behaving as I would expect. When the LED is turned ON, I get about +8V flowing out the collector. When the LED is turned OFF, I get +12V from the collector.

I was expecting: with the LED ON, +12V, LED OFF 0V.

UPDATE: Also tried swaping the Emitter and Collector to no avail (same results).

Where have horribly gone wrong?

I am fully expecting that I've done this completely wrong, so am now looking for some assistance.

Thanks!

David

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Noob here. I've read "electronics for dummies" and that's about it :)
Welcome to the Forums. Keep reading ;)

Anyway, what I want to do is close a +12V circuit for one device using only a +2V signal from another. Basically, I'm hacking an Audio/Video 4-input switch box and I want to close the +12V circuit if a specific input is selected. The switch box has 4 led's and one of them lights up corresponding to which input is the currently switched input.

I get +2V off the + and - leads of the LED.
OK, that means the LED's Vf is 2v, perhaps yellow or green.

So, I've taken a 2N3904 NPN transistor and wired it as so:

Emitter: +12V and +2V
Base: -2V
Collector: -12V