5-V Relay Circuit

mrabie007

Joined Aug 28, 2014
Dear All,

I am very new to all this. I want to build my own arduino relay switch board using this Solid State Relay

http://www.omron.com/ecb/products/pdf/en-g3vm_351b_e.pdf

I found this circuit

https://www.circuitlab.com/circuit/49xj2t/relay-shield-circuit/

My questions are:
1) Can this solid state relay work as a normal relay board?
2) how can I specify the require "transistor" and "diode" voltage/resistance to use with the relay ic?
3) any help or feedback on the circuit and the best way to do it, i'd really appreciate it.

Thank you

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
That circuit lab circuit is totally wrong. If you connected it as shown, you would short out the Arduino's 5V regulator and destroy it, or you would vaporize the diode...

This is not the first time I have seen bad stuff from circuit lab!

What do you want to switch with the SSR?

Here is how to drive the input side of the SSR:

Attachments

mrabie007

Joined Aug 28, 2014
Thanks MikeML for the information and the update. I will drive a 24v sprinkler head. I also want to use it to drive the garage door. I want to have a think form factor that's why I am looking at these SSR and not the bulky regular relays. I am new to all this i come from a software background and trying to do the SSR circuit using a thin SSR like the one in the link above.

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Mcgyvr makes a good point. If switching AC, then leave pin 5 floating, and connect the load in series with pin 4 and 6.

Even a 24Vac lawn sprinkler solenoid draws about 250mAac. Shorting across a garage door operator switch would be within the capability of this SSR.

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
Yes reference "Connection A/B/C" diagrams for how to hook them up to your loads..

But I'd guess the 120mA is going to be a problem for you application.. Hence a larger SSR or mechanical relay will be required.

mrabie007

Joined Aug 28, 2014