All About Circuits Forum  

Go Back   All About Circuits Forum > Electronics Forums > General Electronics Chat

Notices

General Electronics Chat Discussion forum for general chat about anything electronics related, including asking questions about material in the All About Circuits E-book, Worksheets, and Videos.

Reply   Post New Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2012, 07:38 AM
nohope nohope is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Smile radial can elecrolytic capacitor

hi all i am new to your forum i have a 275 watt guitar amp head that needs some new parts this is a vintage amp so parts are hard to come by rarial can electrolytic capacitor red pos 2200uf 63v dc can not isolated 7338 ka3132 2 pin is what is on the can they measure about 3inches long and 1.5 inc wide is there anothere type i could use as all the ones i can find are very small and clip on to a board (snap fit) and my ones just have wires solderd on to the ends any help would be great thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2012, 09:41 AM
P-MONKE P-MONKE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 83
Default

Modern electrolytic capacitors are much smaller than they were a few years ago and finding a replacement to fit an old circuit board is nigh-on impossible.

I have recently been servicing some boards form 1974 where I've had to replace the old axial electrolytic capacitors with smaller radial versions. I've had to carefully form the leads to fit the existing holes and, in a couple of cases extend the leads. Note that I hooked the ends of the leads and extensions around each other for mechanical strength. In both cases I've also used a hot-glue gun to secure the cap to the board too, otherwise there's a chance the leads could break in a few years.

Just make sure that the voltage rating is equal to, or higher than the original part.

This photo (sorry for the poor quality) shows the old cap behind the new ones - you can see where I've had to extend the leads and the blob of glue.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG0098A (Medium).jpg (49.3 KB, 16 views)

Last edited by P-MONKE; 04-29-2012 at 11:52 AM. Reason: Pre-coffee typos
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2012, 01:34 PM
#12's Avatar
#12 #12 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 15 miles west of Tampa, Florida
Posts: 9,088
Blog Entries: 9
Default

http://www.mouser.com/Passive-Compon...z0sq5xZ1z0z819

Oops...These are axial, like the fat one on P_MONKE's board, but you get the idea. Go to a seller's site and search for it.
__________________
It's only my opinion, and sometimes I'm wrong.
(I learn something almost every day on this site.)

Last edited by #12; 04-29-2012 at 01:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-29-2012, 01:39 PM
#12's Avatar
#12 #12 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 15 miles west of Tampa, Florida
Posts: 9,088
Blog Entries: 9
Default

http://www.mouser.com/Passive-Compon...z0sq5xZ1z0z7l5

Here are the radial leads.
__________________
It's only my opinion, and sometimes I'm wrong.
(I learn something almost every day on this site.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-29-2012, 02:34 PM
P-MONKE P-MONKE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by #12 View Post
Just for your information - those links don't work in the UK as the browser gets redirected to the uk.mouser.com site, even if I copy and paste the link directly into the url field.

It's no skin off of my back as I don't need the parts, but I don't know where the OP lives...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-29-2012, 02:46 PM
#12's Avatar
#12 #12 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 15 miles west of Tampa, Florida
Posts: 9,088
Blog Entries: 9
Default

I also don't know where nohope, the OP is, but I demonstrated that radial and axial lead caps of the size needed are available. The axial caps might just fit better now that caps are so much smaller than they were 10 or 20 years ago.
__________________
It's only my opinion, and sometimes I'm wrong.
(I learn something almost every day on this site.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-30-2012, 06:23 AM
nohope nohope is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Default thanks

thank you i can get the same rated part just was not sure as it was so small compaired to the ariginal part thanks again
Reply With Quote
Reply   Post New Thread

Tags
, , ,


Related Site Pages
Section Title
Worksheet Switched capacitor circuitry
Worksheet DC motor theory
Worksheet Capacitors


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A basic question about capacitors in AC circuits boogie General Electronics Chat 16 08-28-2012 04:04 AM
Testing Capacitor w/analog meter in circuit Dankou General Electronics Chat 2 04-22-2012 05:05 AM
learning basic workings of capacitor PG1995 General Electronics Chat 2 10-23-2011 04:18 PM
A problem of "overunity" in a switched capacitor bank circuit?! David E. Cowlishaw Off-Topic 3 07-23-2010 07:33 PM
Blowing motor start capacitors jrappl General Electronics Chat 9 11-19-2007 11:35 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:52 AM.


User-posted content, unless source quoted, is licensed under a Creative Commons Public Domain License.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.