PDA

View Full Version : Issues with my circuit design.

Jemson
09-01-2011, 11:38 AM
Hi all,
I must point out that I am quite new to electronic design.
I have designed my first circuit with the help of a friend (who is now overseas), and I am having some issues.

It is a very small circuit for a micro controller to drive a relay for turning on/off an a fan in my computer room. The circuit works, but the transistors keeps burning out on the board. Once I replace it, it is ok for a short while then dies again. I am not sure if I got a dodgy batch of transistors or there is a problem with my circuit... If there is a problem in the circuit I am thinking it may be with the placement of D1, or R1 is not big enough but in reality, I am stumped!

I have attached a small design i sketched up in paint, i am still learning my way around LTspliceIV and this is all I could whip up in the short term.
I should also point out the ground is common between the 5v and 12v sources!

Any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated. I will be only too happy to answer any questions you may have if additional info is required!

strantor
09-01-2011, 12:41 PM
What's the actual part# for D1? 1N4001? 1N4002? 1N4003? It should be 1N4004 or better. otherwise that may be your problem.

Jemson
09-01-2011, 12:50 PM
Sorry, typo. Yes it's a 1N4004!

strantor
09-01-2011, 01:14 PM
well then in that case I'm out of ideas. Transistor & diode seems up to par. the way you've drawn it, seems it should work from what I see. Maybe check to make sure its actually wired the way you drew it (obligatory dummy check :)).

Jemson
09-01-2011, 01:33 PM
Yeah definitely checked and rechecked that.
The circuit actually works (for a while) then the transistor seems to die and I am stumped as to why... Replacing it fixes it for a while, before the next one goes :/

strantor
09-01-2011, 01:44 PM