About Internet Speed

b.shahvir

Joined Jan 6, 2009
Hi, :)

I'm a novice as far as computing and the internet is concerned and hence I need to get some concepts cleared about the same.

I've availed for a broadband internet service at my residence for personal use from my local WAN service provider. The plan I've availed for is for 256 Kbps download speed. I was a bit uncertain about the speed and hence ran an online speed test using 'Speedtest.net' internet speed testing site. The following were the results of the test;

Latency test (ping test) = 25ms
Download speed = 310Kbps
Upload speed = approx. about 70Kbps
The bandwith speed is 10Mpbs as displayed at the task bar connectivity icons of my PC.

When I ran the same online test for other computers (i.e. at my workplace) I got the following results;

Latency test (ping test) = 30ms
Download speed = 420Kbps
Upload speed = approx. about 430Kbps
The bandwith speed is 100Mpbs as displayed at the task bar connectivity icons.

What I want to understand is, whether I'm getting a good bargain for what I'm paying the ISP. Does bandwidth speed has something to do with low download speeds (10Mpbs at my residence, 100Mpbs at my workplace)? I feel my network connection speed is not up to the mark. I will be very grateful for any help received in this regard as it is bugging me for quite sometime and am losing sleep over it.

Thanks & best regards,
Shahvir

studiot

Joined Nov 9, 2007
What connection method does you modem use to your pc? Ethernet or USB?
Do you know what these are?

Hwy101 may be right about your router (if you have one) but it would make no difference ti the performance of either your work or home connections.

10Mbps is 20 times faster than 400kbps so there is no gain using 100Mbps kit.

I would be more concerned about the ISP's provision, but I don't know the available capacity in India.

256K is desperately low, 420K not much better for a downstream.